Home > Uncategorized > Hurricane QR code – So you just like making pretty codes?

Hurricane QR code – So you just like making pretty codes?

More exploration of the fringes of what a QR could look like.  Only scans with “i-nigma” , but I think the code itself is quite beautiful.

Maybe I should name it something else.

On a side note- someone commented to me “whats the point?”  Personally, my motivation is exploring what can be done with these codes. Its not about if this one is prettier then the next one, but the more I know about how to use pixels to push this technology, I feel better equipped to tackle my paid projects.  Many of my custom QR codes are about this exploration, and figuring out a way to make codes that I find interesting and intriguing.  And, a large part of this process is art oriented. Its about discovery, problem solving, and taking a chance and do something new.

-Patrick Donnelly

http://www.qrarts.com

  1. May 5, 2010 at 11:16 am

    stop screwing with the visuals and breaking the functionality, put your efforts into building better campaigns/creative back end uses instead.

  2. May 5, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    @Dean –

    Because I believe in transparency, I am not going to delete this comment. I think you raise a good point, although I would have worded some of your feedback a bit differently. My goal is not to design effective QR campaigns, but remarkable ones.

    As a scientist, I believe in advancing my field and profession through experiments and sharing the knowledge I help produce. Sometimes these experiments results in failures, which I try to consider learning experiences. Process is more important then outcome (Mau).

    I wish you the best in your future endeavors.
    -pd

  3. May 5, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    good luck to you to; the way i see it screwing with the visuals of a qr code is like saying i want to invent a better wine cork but ignoring the creativity that goes into the wine bottle.

    i guess someone has to do it but i think your time could be spent better elsewhere (and deliver greater results).

    eitherway equally best regards.

    cheers,
    Dean

  4. May 5, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    I really love your site here and look forward to the experiments. It helps me think about my own rudimentary experiments with QRs and their uses. The aesthetics are important. . . and the wine cork analogy is a little off, I think. The wine label and bottle are just as important to the sale of a wine as the quality of the grape. I think the future isn’t about selling products but experiences, an interaction with a product that starts way before traditional consumption, and the QR could play a very interesting role in that.

  5. May 5, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    As technology becomes more and more integrated into our lives, design is more important than ever. If a beautiful or intriguing code prompts more interest and engagement than a plain one, that’s an equal part of function – arguably as important as the content it links to. I don’t see it as “breaking the functionality”, rather, bending and stretching the limits of technology to more humanize and personalize the experience.

    There are many more people taking care of the functionality and coding technology than exploring how to make the experience user-friendly. Design matters. Cheers to exploring.

  6. May 5, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    Patrick, you are the man.

  7. May 20, 2010 at 11:47 pm

    Art creates change in people

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

